2.14

I don’t love Valentine’s Day. I don’t hate Valentine’s Day. I find it interesting. First off, I think I should clarify something. Just because I, Isaura, am single doesn’t mean I hate this day. Don’t assume that people who are single are bitter and hate candy and hearts and Trey Songz lyrics as statuses. No, we love all of those things just like any other normal human being. Like I said, I find V-Day so interesting. Ever since elementary school, I’ve been intrigued by this magical day of feelings. I say feelings instead of love because not everyone feels love on this day. But how do I feel about this day? Three words: optimistic, curious, and nauseous. Seeing all of my friends with their boo thangs really does make me happy. Happiness makes me optimistic. Back in high school, I used to be jealous when people were talking about going out on a hot date to Chili’s. Why the hell couldn’t I go on a hot date where I could eat Chicken Crispers and take SideKick pics that were MySpace worthy?! I sulked at home and watched a bunch of Degrassi episodes. It was actually really pathetic. Then I came to college and realized that being sad wasn’t helping me in any way possible. Why not be happy for people who are happy? Isn’t that what we want anyway? Happiness?! Pretty sure Wale included “the pursuit of happiness” in the Declaration of Independence. But seriously, seeing people show love to one another really makes me happy for the future. V-Day makes me curious. I don’t spend a lot of time thinking about relationships on that boo level, so February 14 kind of forces me to think about it. Lastly, V-Day makes me nauseous. I eat way too much. I’m pretty sure I had 5 meals today and they all included desserts. Optimism, curious, and nauseous. That’s how I feel about Valentine’s Day. And mid-term exams. Happy V-Day homies!

Leave a Reply

