Questions about “Real” Women

This is how I’m feeling right now:Image

Why? I’m going through what you call a “Summer Breakdown”. What’s a Summer Breakdown you ask? It’s when you are on break from college and you’re analyzing life 23 out of the 24 hours of a day because you were too busy crying in the shower about variables, P-Values, and scatterplots during the school year. A Summer Breakdown can cause side effects such as endless reblogging on Tumblr, unnecessary trips to the mall, and laughing hysterically while watching C-SPAN (don’t even get me started on The Essentials with Robert Osborne). So what have I been over-analyzing for the last few weeks? “Real” women. I know, I know, you’ve probably heard this term used many times in magazines, on television and all over social media networks, but have you ever really thought about who these “real” women are? Here, look at this picture of food while you think about it:

Image

Welcome back! So what are your thoughts? How do you “define” real women? HOLD UP, WAIT A MINUTE. This is where my head starts to hurt. Who gets to define a group of people? Does it matter who is defining who? Are you asking the people who are being defined their thoughts on your definition? Can you even ask every single person in the group? See, this is where I get confused. Where do I even begin to determine who I think a “real” woman is. My values? The women I surround myself with? Who I see on television? You’re probably getting really annoyed with these questions that I am not providing answers for. I’m not sorry that I can’t answer them all. People have asked me what qualities I believe a “real” woman has. I think my answers were “strong-minded, ambitious, and knowledgable”. Such a compelling answer. Now that I think about it, I know that there is no set definition of a “real” woman. This “real” woman crap has been bothering me a lot lately, not only because I’ve had free time to think about it, but also because everywhere I go I see some article talking about “real” women or an event focused on women’s awareness. The most recent example would be the Chime for Change Benefit concert that aired on NBC on Sunday. I loved the idea of bringing awareness to women’s issues, BUT will this concert lead to a discussion? Not just this concert, but all benefit events like dinners, walks, charity shows, etc. I understand the purpose behind these events is more to raise money than to discuss. I’ve been to plenty of benefits & charity events. I go, donate, get emotional, and leave. I think about the cause, but I feel like I can do more with my thoughts. So when will we have more discussions on women and identity. If we can have Queen Bey singing on stage with my girl Jenny from the Block and Florence Welch, why can’t we have them leading a worldwide telecast on the same issues they gave a 20 second statement on. There is a huge difference between awareness and thought, and we’re not thinking enough. Don’t get me wrong, I know there are discussions going on everyday in schools and communities throughout the country, but are we all connecting? If we were constantly thinking about how and why we each believe in what we believe is a “real” woman, then maybe we can have a real debate on who a “real” woman is rather than relying on physical traits to help us form these ridiculous definitions. You know what, I take back the word debate. It shouldn’t be a debate, it should be a conversation. Who knows, the conversation might turn into a debate. I’m just at that point where I want to analyze with other people because it’s getting a little out of hand. But wait, there’s more!

DOES THIS “REAL” WOMAN EVEN EXSIST? What constitutes being a real woman? Being the baddest or being a lady? What the hell is a “healthy” body and what does it look like? How is a woman not real if she’s living and breathing? Do I even want to be defined? Maybe I want to define myself. I feel like Meryl Streep can help me answer these questions, but I don’t really know her. As you can see, this Summer Breakdown has blown my mind. If anyone has any comments/answers to these questions, please let a sister know!

Leave a Reply

